Thoughts on Hebrews 4:12


Art by Gerda Keurentjes http://www.gekk-art.nl

12 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

All of a sudden it hit me. We may be sitting there studying the Bible and then (at least in my case) I will end up pondering what I think of a certain passage or verse. But the way I ‘judge’ the Word is actually not what it is all about: it is all about the Word judging me, it shows me what my intentions are, where my own heart is.

And woth that in mind, the Bible is indeed “the living word” that is at the basis of the transformation that comes through living a life in Christ, a Spirit lead life. Here we have a Father, God, who speaks to us through the Bible, that shows us where we are in our relationship with Him, who we really are, and as a result transforms us. So, hmm…, what does it really tell me if I find particular passages dull or not of any particular interest?

The words of God are given not for us to have our opinion on but to penetrate our souls. All of a sudden I need to re-evaluate the way I am reading the Bible. The right question seems no longer “what are my thoughts on this or that passage?”, but “what’s happening in my heart when I read this passage?”

What a great start of the year.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Hebrews 4:12

  1. I completely agree with Bible reading being “what’s happening in my heart when I read this passage?” I have found recently that His Word works on me through the most unlikely passages!

    Thanks for choosing my weekend post as a “related article”!

    ~Jennifer

Leave a Reply

