Non-smoking the first ten days


Ten days of quitting smoking now and I can not look back on a perfect try. Yep I’ll admit it I have had some cigarettes here and there. In the previous article on this subject I wrote about quitting I ended up getting the patches. When it comes to those there is one important lesson:

DO NOT FORGET TO PUT ON A FRESH ONE IN THE MORNING.

The other day I was ready to give up my attempt completely. I was pretty much sure that those patches did not do anything. I had actually forgotten to change the patch. The lozenges I was provided as a top up I have not been using much considering I am allowed twenty a day. I have not had twenty yet in the past 10 days, all the “potential” side effects seem to be applicable to me. But at the same time I seem to be more committed and through prayer and reading the bible I have stayed committed and no matter what, they do help.

I guess the secret is not to forget to stand up and move on when you fall. And that is sort of what it has been thanking God for every day I managed to keep my hands of the cigarettes completely and equally for the days where I did have a weak moment but did not start smoking again. I seem more determined than ever and I got the best support team one could wish for next to the quit line.

The expected irritability and other withdrawal symptoms have not been as bad as expected and I see now how many of the cigarettes I used to smoke have been associated with specific events: being on the telephone, in the car, after diner, with the coffee in the morning and as a “brain break.”

If there are (br)others (and sisters) out there with stories about stopping I’d love to hear it and perhaps we can all support each other to pull through.

2 thoughts on “Non-smoking the first ten days

  1. John,
    This is just my opinion. I am not a doctor or a stop-smoking expert of any kind. But here goes.

    The sooner you quit the patches and lozenges, the better off you will be. If you depend on them, you are still dependent, and you are still acting like a smoker who is trying to quit. You don’t need to be a ‘smoker trying to quit;’ you need to be a non-smoker. As long as you see yourself as a smoker trying to quit, you will still be a smoker.

    Nicotine is addictive, and that is an issue, but so much of smoking is mental. You said it yourself, the act of smoking is associated with particular times and activities (in the car, first cup of coffee, etc), and that is less about addiction and more about habit. And habits are strictly mental.

    It’s time for you to get control of your thinking.

    I was blessed to be delivered from cigarettes 25 years ago. I say delivered because during prayer one day, I heard that still small voice suggest that it was interfering with my blessings. I never smoked another cigarette…never had the first withdrawal symptom…just put them down and vowed never to pick another one up.

    And I did not view myself as a reformed smoker. I viewed myself as a non-smoker. And that’s all I’m suggesting you do. The patches and other devices are used for smokers who are trying to quit. You need to be a non-smoker.

    Again, this is all strictly my opinion and my experience, and it may not be at all valid for you. Just offering my perspective.

    Peace to you,
    Buz

    • Hi Buz,

      Thank you so much for this advice and I agree with you that patches do not address the nicotine addiction. I also agree that I perhaps should consider myself a non-smoker but at the same time I do not feel I deserve to call myself that given the failures so far. I guess in the “title” is the admission /confession.

      You were surely delivered if things happened as you said.

      The patches address the addiction yet they help getting through the mental moments easier. So far those mental moments have been the harder ones and I am amazed every time how deeply ingrained they actually are in my life.

      One step at the time for now and I am sure that with commitment, perseverance and prayer I will succeed.

      Every day a little bit easier.

      Love an blessings,

      John

Leave a Reply

