Quote of the Day: Surrounded by Angels, Carlos Santana


What can I say: Carlos Santana is the very reason I started playing and still am playing guitar. Since my conversion his music and person have become of even greater relevance to me. I have a renewed and different appreciation for his music. I see someone that has been seeking and finding, someone with complete dedication, someone that plays to serve instead of being served, someone that heals through music. A very humble person and an example and inspiration for what is and is to come if God wills.

I have had several occasions now where it feels as such a privilege to play and actually receive such incredible guidance an inspiration where none is deserved. More and more I believe that the best way for me to pray and worship is actually through my guitar. I can’t help but feeling that watching Santana play is actually sort of like an example, a manual even as to how to do just that. The music of Carlos Santana seems so often like the perfect worship song to me, less words and more music and most of all relevant. THE REAL DEAL, naked and honest, where “it is in the giving that we receive” is actually embodied in the music.

The other day I stumbled upon the Youtube video below, of Carlos Santana live in Mexico. In the intro of the song he speaks to the audience in Spanish but through the translation of the introduction of the song I came across this quote that has stuck with me all day and will probably be there for a very long time to come.

Remember,

If we take the time to see with the heart and not with the mind, we shall see that we are surrounded completely by angels.
We shall see them and feel them dancing; always dancing in the flesh.

Another great quote by the same man to close this post:

When it is raining everyone gets wet, it doesn’t matter whether you are someone poor or the pope. That is the unity I want to express with my music.

That is what will be my leading word of inspiration for the coming period when I write new music.

Share

Leave a Reply

