Remembering St Francis and St Clare of Assisi


When hearing Francis preaching in the church of San Rufino in Assisi in 1209, Clare of Assisi became deeply touched by his message and she realized her calling. Today exactly 799 years ago Francis received Clare at the Porziuncola and hereby established the Order of Poor Ladies, later called Poor Clares.

Saint Clare of Assisi, born Chiara Offreduccio (July 16, 1194 – August 11, 1253) is an Italian saint and one of the first followers of Saint Francis of Assisi. She founded the Order of Poor Ladies, a monastic religious order for women in the Franciscan tradition. Following her death, the order she founded was renamed in her honor as the Order of Saint Clare, commonly referred to today as the Poor Clares.

The Prayer of St Francis

I remember well how I first read this prayer and not knowing it was already a well established hymn I created my own musical version of it. I will spare you the sound of my singing endeavors but once it is recorded by someone than actually has a voice to sing with I will get back to that. If you truly insist on hearing me sing my version of this ‘classic’ than by all means leave a comment to that effect. For now I will leave this with the text of the prayer which is so inspiring in itself:

Lord, Make me a channel of your peace,
Where there is hatred let me bring your love,
Where there is injury your pardon Lord,
And where there’s doubt true faith in you.
Make me a channel of your peace,
Where there’s despair in life, let me bring hope,
Where there is darkness, only light,
And where there’s sadness, ever joy.
O Master grant that I may never seek,
So much to be consoled as to console,
To be understood as to understand,
To be loved as to love with all my soul.
Make me a channel of your peace,
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
In giving to all men that we receive
And in dying that we are born to eternal life.

One thought on “Remembering St Francis and St Clare of Assisi

  1. Right here is the right webpage for anyone who wants to find out about this
    topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).

    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that has been written about for many years.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

Leave a Reply

