A Visit to the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament


Today an appointment was canceled while en route to it. Being in town anyway I decided that instead I would drive on and visit the Catholic Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament in Christchurch. On my first visit to this beautiful church I did not have any photo equipment with me. This time I did. Besides that I remembered how I enjoyed a quiet moment last time I visited. For those wondering what the difference is between a church and a cathedral:

A cathedral is a bishop's church, the mother church of a diocese. The name comes from the Latin word for a chair. From his 'cathedra' the bishop symbolically teaches, sanctifies and guides the People of God committed to his care. In a cathedral, too, is found an altar – its focal point. When the bishop celebrates the Eucharist with his priests, deacons and lay faithful about him, there the local Church is linked to every local Church in the world, and to the College of Bishops with the Bishop of Rome at its head. There the Church is seen in its fullness – one, holy, catholic, and apostolic. The very heart of the Cathedral, however, is its tabernacle – there in the Blessed Sacrament is found the abiding presence of Christ among his people. 'Ecce Tabernaculum Dei Cum Hominibus' ( Source: http://www.chch.catholic.org.nz/?sid=207).

I was extra lucky today, as there was a number of people taken on a guided tour and it allowed me to visit the gallery (sadly enough I was not able to go all the way up). My visit was refreshing, enjoyed a quiet moment in the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament and felt refreshed overall after that visit. The best lunch hour I spent in a long time. I can recommend it to anyone. While some pictures are attached to this post, I would recommend having a look at my Photostream for more pictures or perhaps visit the website of the Cathedral at http://www.chch.catholic.org.nz/?sid=207.

This Cathedral is most definitely worth a visit and a great way to enjoy something else during your lunch hour if you are into art, architecture, religion or just to enjoy a moment of quiet, peace, prayer or meditation.

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from John Dierckx

Leave a Reply

